top of page

Things to remember when making a color chart

     I did not stop to think of the condition of these tubes of paint, whether there was enough paint or if they were in good enough shape. 

     In the photo above, starting at the bottom left container, we have a perylene green whose cap will not come off. I had to snip the bottom of the tube to get any out. Most likely, I will just squeeze it all into my palette once I have decided which colors are staying. Above it is a tube of dry raw sienna, which can be squeezed out, but needs the be rehydrated. Then we have poor little cadmium yellow pale hue, that I had not realized was running a bit low. Finally we come to one of our two viridians, this is Van Gogh while the other is a Grumbacher. This one's cap was missing, it had a but of paper towel stuffed in the opening. 

     I like to jump into projects, but since I was using inherited materials, I should have examined and assessed them. Most likely, I would have left out the colors that were dried out or difficult to open. The cadmium pale yellow hue? I would have just hoped there was enough to finish the chart. Then I can see if I would like to get a fresh tube of it.

What I did above is pick which colors I want to see mixed with the cadmium yellow. Mainly curious how it mixed with certain greens and blues.

This is a more focused look at row (washes) with cobalt violet (second from the right, somehow making a golden yellow) and dioxazine violet on the end.

     Just wanted to put this out there, if anyone has paints laying around that they would like to see how the colors interact. It is so much fun, but requires some forethought. Take care and I hope to hear from you all soon.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page