top of page

Fighting a creative block

I am having trouble getting back on the horse, so to speak. I am doing fine sketching and illustrating, but in regards to painting I am a bit stuck. I finished a little still life a couple of weeks ago but have not moved past that.

So in thinking back on how I have dealt with this in the past, I will do some creative calisthenics, sort of stretching mind mind. It will also help remind me exactly how the paints work.

Other things to consider when you realize you are experiencing this is thinking how you normally work best. Usually after a big change, say moving into a new space or a big event in general.

After recognizing the differences from when you worked really well and your current situation you can begin to move back to your previous dynamic. Sometimes that is not possible, and then you must examine for ways to mimic that state of being.

My predicament is that my current living situation and schedule is very different from my previous one. Paint takes some setting up and when you have pets (I have two at the moment) you cannot leave wet paint laying around.

So I need to find a spot where I am comfortable painting at that I can easily shift my supplies together when necessary. A place with a minimum of distractions that have some control over what happens in that space in regards to lighting and sound. Currently that means my art closet is best suited to the task. I will try it out and let you all know how it works.

Anyone out there ever experience an artistic freeze, and how have you dealt with it, are you still dealing with it? Feel free to leave a comment, send an e-mail, or call your local representative. Let's get a discussion going. Take care everyone!

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page