top of page

Extended Weekend Update, September 1-4

     First weekend of September, a bit busy but nothing like the previous couple weekends. Friday  was a bit of random sketching, not until Saturday that I did any sketching from life.

     I was sitting in a clothes shop with my sketchbook and nothing better to do. After this, I went to a nearby arts and crafts store where I had a fifty percent off coupon. Picked up an Arches watercolor block (half off) and a Strathmore tan toned sketchbook. I've never drawn on ruined paper, but watching videos on Will Terell's YouTube had me wanting to give it a shot.    

     I found a picture of my friend Jason, did a basic pencil sketch, then went over it with some Design 2 markers that were passed on to me. Alcohol based markers, so I made sure to place a piece of paper underneath for when it soaked through. These pens were from the late 90's and held up pretty well, a rare marker might be dried out or nearly dead. So with these markers along with a white pencil, and a white Gelly Roll I feel it turned out pretty good. That was Sunday.

     Monday being a holiday here, I went downtown to paint a landscape. I hadn't anticipated the blustery day facing me and paints dried quicker than I had anticipated. Turning my frustration (the painting was unusable for my purpose) I used it for a little experimentation. Suddenly I felt free, it wasn't a waste of materials, in fact it would help improve my painting when I come back to this spot. I didn't take a picture because I want it to be a surprise when I release my project. That is all, take care everyone!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page