top of page

#manw2017 February 13th

     Watercolor weekend for me, trying to improve my landscapes. Youtube is a fantastic resource for learning new techniques and tricks. Steve Mitchell (The Mind of Watercolor) has the mantra "Allow yourself to fail" and it was tough but failing allows you to learn.

     This was my second attempt at a spontaneous landscape. I tried a few things here, mainly scraping to get effects (rocks, foliage) Also set up the color palette that he uses in some of his videos. 



     The top was my first spontaneous landscape, just could not see a landscape in it. For the middle painting, I used a trick from Charles Evans (basically the entire painting) and I like it the most. I was trying to do a lot in the bottom one, but I feel like I'm getting the hang of this.


     I'm hoping to get some more practice with watercolors and improve my skill in landscapes. Take care, everyone!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page