top of page

More Urban Sketching

     So, like many others I've been urban sketching without realizing it is a thing. The breadth of mediums that can be used is fantastic! From pen/pencil to paint, even collage, there is some fantastic work out there. For my part I will be posting my sketches at least twice a week. 

Above is the first from Monday, as I look from the cafeteria window at work. I liked the overhang at the Ohio Theatre, so that became my starting point. Below is one of my co-workers, whom I attempted to get her skin tone through shading. Not satisfied with it, I'll try again in the future.

     Those were my sketches from Monday, for now I will be using my Moleskine notebook (2.5"x5" maybe) and my Microns. The notebook is portable enough and I can clip a pen to my shirt.

     Yesterday I got a couple more in, the first being a ground level view of the restaurant across the street.

     I have begun noting what pens I've used, hence the Micron 03, 01. In my next sketch the notation was too far left and therefore got cut off. Another lunchtime piece, trying to capture someone moving about is a bit tricky. As always, steady practice will improve areas of difficulty.

     Any questions, feel free to email our message me. There are links to my email and various social media outlets elsewhere on my site. Thanks fort taking the time!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page